forkaftergrep.git
18 months agoAdd notes about unbuffering master github/master
girst [Sat, 11 May 2019 15:40:13 +0000 (17:40 +0200)]
Add notes about unbuffering

2 years agocleanup makefile and man page, add examples to readme
girst [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 18:04:06 +0000 (19:04 +0100)]
cleanup makefile and man page, add examples to readme

2 years agoadd GREP_OVERRIDE, update man page, generate README
girst [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 08:37:50 +0000 (09:37 +0100)]
add GREP_OVERRIDE, update man page, generate README

2 years agofinish -l and -L, update man page
girst [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 08:08:05 +0000 (09:08 +0100)]
finish -l and -L, update man page

2 years agoupdate manpage; TODO: update readme
girst [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 04:36:15 +0000 (05:36 +0100)]
update manpage; TODO: update readme

2 years agochange -e to -r, more grep options, stub for grep -e and -f
girst [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 04:18:19 +0000 (05:18 +0100)]
change -e to -r, more grep options, stub for grep -e and -f

2 years agoproperly daemonize, also smaller fixes
girst [Fri, 16 Feb 2018 04:17:58 +0000 (05:17 +0100)]
properly daemonize, also smaller fixes

3 years agoupdate readme from manpage
girst [Fri, 13 Oct 2017 15:04:32 +0000 (17:04 +0200)]
update readme from manpage

3 years agoMerge branch 'master' of https://github.com/girst/forkaftergrep
girst [Fri, 13 Oct 2017 15:02:26 +0000 (17:02 +0200)]
Merge branch 'master' of https://github.com/girst/forkaftergrep

3 years agoterminate PROGRAM when fag gets interrupted/terminated
girst [Fri, 13 Oct 2017 14:58:35 +0000 (16:58 +0200)]
terminate PROGRAM when fag gets interrupted/terminated

useful, when one runs fag interactively and notices a mistake in the
command line. you can now just ^C is such a case.

3 years agofix grep bug (match found on exit); found new one
girst [Sat, 12 Aug 2017 13:38:48 +0000 (15:38 +0200)]
fix grep bug (match found on exit); found new one

not closing grep's stderr fixed it. go figure.

3 years agoupdate date; copy current manpage to readme
girst [Fri, 11 Aug 2017 23:36:40 +0000 (01:36 +0200)]
update date; copy current manpage to readme

i keep forgetting that :|

3 years agofound bug, won't do mnemonic signals (for now)
girst [Fri, 11 Aug 2017 23:23:03 +0000 (01:23 +0200)]
found bug, won't do mnemonic signals (for now)

if grep crashes, it thinks, a match was found
mnemonic signal support delayed (not very portable)

3 years agoAMENDME: redirect userprog to /dev/null instead of closing
girst [Thu, 3 Aug 2017 13:45:18 +0000 (15:45 +0200)]
AMENDME: redirect userprog to /dev/null instead of closing

3 years agokill grep on error; small cleanups
girst [Thu, 3 Aug 2017 12:46:58 +0000 (14:46 +0200)]
kill grep on error; small cleanups

3 years agofixed sigpipe
girst [Fri, 28 Jul 2017 22:20:39 +0000 (00:20 +0200)]
fixed sigpipe

3 years agolocated 128+SIGPIPE error
girst [Fri, 28 Jul 2017 21:59:47 +0000 (23:59 +0200)]
located 128+SIGPIPE error

gdb output of crash:
> Program received signal SIGPIPE, Broken pipe.
> 0x00007ffff7b08ae0 in __write_nocancel () from /lib64/libc.so.6
> (gdb) bt
> #0  0x00007ffff7b08ae0 in __write_nocancel () from /lib64/libc.so.6
> #1  0x000000000040132a in fork_after_grep (opts=...) at fag.c:190
> #2  0x0000000000400ea2 in main (argc=5, argv=0x7fffffffe128) at fag.c:83

3 years agoremove unnecessary close()s, found bug (exit 141)
girst [Fri, 28 Jul 2017 21:49:24 +0000 (23:49 +0200)]
remove unnecessary close()s, found bug (exit 141)

3 years agoverbose'd twice
girst [Fri, 28 Jul 2017 21:19:51 +0000 (23:19 +0200)]
verbose'd twice

3 years agosome more bugfixes, some found
girst [Fri, 28 Jul 2017 01:27:56 +0000 (03:27 +0200)]
some more bugfixes, some found

if grep exits with an error, fag thinks, a match was found.

simulate by setting grep's arguments to "-GE" (conflicting regex types)
in the code (setting both from the cli won't trigger, as only the last
one will be passed thru to grep)

3 years agogrep now accepts some arguments
girst [Fri, 28 Jul 2017 01:11:39 +0000 (03:11 +0200)]
grep now accepts some arguments

you can use grep options -E, -F, -G, -P, -i, -w, -x, -y, and -U now.
these are the only ones that make sense (to me at least) to include
besides -e (multiple patterns) and -f (patterns from file).

3 years agoin program help text
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 23:56:00 +0000 (01:56 +0200)]
in program help text

3 years agoupdate readme's man
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 23:52:55 +0000 (01:52 +0200)]
update readme's man

3 years agocleanup in code; small bugfix with verbose mode
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 23:48:41 +0000 (01:48 +0200)]
cleanup in code; small bugfix with verbose mode

didn't memset output buffer; caused repeated strings with -V mode

3 years agomore manpage updating
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 23:34:28 +0000 (01:34 +0200)]
more manpage updating

3 years agoupdate manpage to reflect new grep-usage
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 23:26:35 +0000 (01:26 +0200)]
update manpage to reflect new grep-usage

3 years agonow uses grep for matches; todo: grep-params
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 23:19:45 +0000 (01:19 +0200)]
now uses grep for matches; todo: grep-params

3 years agostart with integrating actual grep
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 22:04:30 +0000 (00:04 +0200)]
start with integrating actual grep

3 years agoreplace deprecated _BSD_SOURCE with _DEFAULT_SOURCE
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 19:11:00 +0000 (21:11 +0200)]
replace deprecated _BSD_SOURCE with _DEFAULT_SOURCE

3 years agoadd verbose mode; fix makefile
girst [Thu, 27 Jul 2017 19:08:29 +0000 (21:08 +0200)]
add verbose mode; fix makefile

3 years agocleaned up debugcode
girst [Wed, 8 Feb 2017 13:24:59 +0000 (14:24 +0100)]
cleaned up debugcode

3 years agocleaned up debugcode
girst [Wed, 8 Feb 2017 13:24:59 +0000 (14:24 +0100)]
cleaned up debugcode

3 years agoreadme addition
girst [Tue, 7 Feb 2017 19:55:47 +0000 (20:55 +0100)]
readme addition

3 years agolicense added
girst [Tue, 7 Feb 2017 19:45:06 +0000 (20:45 +0100)]
license added

3 years agoinitial version
girst [Tue, 7 Feb 2017 19:42:25 +0000 (20:42 +0100)]
initial version

Imprint / Impressum